Face Scrub / Natural / Skincare

DIY Lemon Sugar Scrub

Once upon a time, I had this fabulous client who would always bring me in samples from her job. She happened to work with one of the most elite skincare companies in the country, and in an elite store, specifically managing the Makeup Department within this store. LOVE IT.

She often brought me little goodies when she would come in to get her hair done. When she started bringing me La Mer, I had no idea who they were, so I ‘Googled.’Image

La Mer: Body Refiner: Only $120.00 a pop! No biggie… right? SHEESH! Although fantastic while she was giving me full size bottles of it!

I used the entire tube, and while it was fancy and expensive, it wasn’t all that fantastic (Sorry La Mer!) So last night I decided to create my own little scrub. You guys know how much I love olive oil, from this post. What you also may not have known is that I’m sort of a sucker for lemon. Lemon chapstick. Lemon Candles… Lemon in my water!

Lemon is antibacterial (due to it’s low PH balance), it lightens blemishes, the natural acid removes oil, cleans and disinfects, makes nails stronger, and the smell has been shown to positively influence mood(among a HOST of other benefits). So I decided to make a Lemon Sugar Scrub.

Lemon Sugar Scrub

Image

1 1/2 C. of Sugar

1 C. Olive Oil

Image

1 lemon = 2 tbsp of lemon juice, so while I used 1 fresh lemon, you can use lemon juice if you prefer.

Image

Mix all ingredients together! I don’t have a cute little jar to display my scrub in yet, so this fancy little bowl will have to do! I did actually use the scrub already on my hands. And they feel… pretty much amazing.

Now that I just saved you a WHOLE BUNCH of money by preventing you  from running out and purchasing a $120 bottle of Body Exfoliater – Let’s talk real quick about exfoliation, itself. Most of us think we know how and when-but for the sake of education- let’s talk!

Your body receives regular exfoliation through changing your clothes, touching your skin, regular day to day action. However, we also endure a lot of abuse- diet andfree radicals in the air- to name a couple- so we need to do things such as exfoliate. We tend to get “ashy” skin or dull skin due to the build up of dead skin cells. Blood flow goes to healthy cells, so you have to remove the dead skin cells to see that fresh, healthy, ‘glowing’ skin.

However- exfoliation will only expose what is underneath. You can only ensure healthy skin underneath all that exfoliation if you are living a healthy lifestyle and drinking lots of water. (Don’t worry.. I am preaching to myself as much as you!)

How to: Start by using it once a week, to make sure there is no reaction. Then you can bump it up to 2 times a week. Every person is different. All skin is different. What works for me may not work for you- so please JUDGE YOURSELF! If your skin is red and irritated… STOP USING IT. And please, by all means DON’T USE THIS SCRUB ON YOUR FACE. The skin on your face is not meant to endure harsh abrasive scrubs.

Remember- this scrub has olive oil in it, so you are removing the dead skin, and moisturizing the healthy immediately. You likely will not need to moisturize after. I didn’t have to with my hands!

Let me know if you try this! I love mine already and can’t wait to use it in the shower.

P.S- FANTASTIC idea for Christmas gifts! 🙂

Have a beautiful day!

UPDATE : 12-9-13 :: I used my scrub last night in the shower. My skin has NEVER felt better. I am sold. I am never buying scrub again!

Leave a comment